The Relentless Arrow

A poem

Tom Kane
iPoetry
Jul 7, 2024

--

Hourglass, clock and an arrow.
Image by Nightcafe

The clock ticks louder now
each second a pebble
dropping into the well of time.
I listen for the splash
knowing the bottom is nearer
than I once believed.

Yesterday’s moments
blur into today’s memories
as tomorrow races towards me
with relentless speed.
I reach out to catch each breath
before it slips away.

How did I not see
the hourglass was always running?
Sand piling up beneath my feet
while I dreamed of endless summers.
Now autumn whispers in my ear
“Hurry, before the leaves fall”.

Clock face on fantasy building
Image by Nightcafe

If you enjoyed reading this, you may also want to explore and subscribe free to my weekly Newsletter, Poetry Genius, which contains tips and discussion on all aspects of poetry writing. Click here

--

--

Tom Kane
iPoetry

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium