The Seven Deadly Sins: Greed

A poem that examines the nature of greed.

DAŘK SCŘIBE
iPoetry
2 min readJun 3, 2024

--

Photo by fikry anshor on Unsplash

I want the best from life, I have that need,

Because I live once, so why neglect myself of it all?
According to the holy ones, I am the embodiment of greed.
One of the seven deadly sins, which will lead to my downfall.

No human is exempted from the sin of greed,
For it’s in human nature to want and crave more.
But the holy ones believe that by charity, from the sin, one can be freed.
Such thinking the covetous psychopaths of the world adore.

The white enslaves the blacks to increase their riches,
Vilifying their humanity to that of animals.
Motivated by this sin, we build more walls and fewer bridges.
But the reality is that for those who are possessed by greed, things have to be dynamical.

Unchecked greed leaves nothing but destruction,

For those possessed by it use others for their own gain.

But such an attitude leads to corruption,

While others at the receiving end experience nothing but pain.

--

--

DAŘK SCŘIBE
iPoetry
Writer for

My words are swords that cut through fantasy and paint reality. I'm a vessel of my writing spirit. I am the Dark Writer.