The Writer’s Sorrow

A poem

qistella
iPoetry
2 min readJul 4, 2024

--

Photo by Andriyko Podilnyk on Unsplash

They whispered,

_

If a writer falls in love with you
you will never truly depart
you will linger on between the lines
in the pause before the full stop arrives
in the essence of ‘
forever’ and ‘us’ that fills each page
but for me, it’s different
because when you go
my pen too comes to a halt.

Each stroke of the pen is a brushstroke on the canvas of your heart
and every word is a hue in the masterpiece that is our love
but when you leave me, my dearest muse
my pen too falls silent
the pages remain blank
how can I write of love when you are gone?
how can I paint your portrait when you are but a memory?
how can I sing a love song when estrangement fills my mind?

In your absence, I am but a shell of myself
a hollow vessel devoid of purpose and meaning
but I know that you will always linger between the lines
so I wait for your return
my dearest muse, for until then
my pen too remains still.

--

--