POETRY

To The Lover I Might Never Meet

Words by Egypt
iPoetry
Published in
2 min readMay 5, 2024

--

Poetry

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Some loves are meant to be lived out
others are meant to be dreamed about.
Both types can cause the heart to ache differently.
I never thought our love would never happen outside of my heart.

My love, my one true love,
I won’t be faulted for not having tried to find you.
I met so many wonderful men who seemed to be you at the time.
But turned out to be a mere shadow of you.

I tried to make the way he looked at me,
into an endless gaze deep into our souls,
I knew he wasn’t it,
I knew he wasn’t you.

The first time I felt my heart resonate with another
I felt light and hazy of mind.
Giddy of spirits at the thought
that finally I had met you.

I was ready to merge body and soul into him,
because wasn’t that the way lovers live fully?
But sadly even him, my first “love”,
the first capturer of my heart wasn’t you.

He wasn't the lover who would steal my breath away,
and hold my soul captive in his heart.
He wasn't an endless fire of knowing,
that only you could keep alight.
Like I said he wasn’t you.

Then I met a series of less intense lovers,
all with different faces,
but similar hearts.
They came disguised as lovers,
but each threw a stone at my heart,
and left me abandoned in the abyss of life.

Dear Lover, my ultimate only love,
I’m saddened I haven’t yet met you,
and I’m terrified I might never meet you.

Perhaps our souls might meet in the next life.
This thought scares me so much,
It seeps all meaning from life,
But I know I have to be strong.

But if you’re still looking for me,
still hoping for me,
know that I will never give up on the hope of you,
until my last breath.

Poets’ note: I’m Egypt, a poet and writer. I write at the intersection of poetry, words and thoughts. I’m a lover, I’ve been hurt, and I still have hope. I’m healing and learning from it all. Writing has been a powerful tool on my journey. I write to express, touch divinity, and liberate my heart.

Follow me or subscribe

more of my poetry:

--

--

Words by Egypt
iPoetry

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt