Validation

Neither did I cheat nor I’m a slut. I just don’t need validation anymore.

Ametaf
iPoetry
2 min readAug 28, 2021

--

Photo by Junior REIS on Unsplash

One of the best things in my morning was “You”,
Opening my eyes and seeing the face that brings
Happiness, cheers, and passion for the rest of my day.
Your smirk while lying on the bed makes me confident
As if, you smiling at me makes me worthy of loving myself.
You enjoying the breakfast I cooked, somehow
kept a lot of my worries and stresses away.
You complimenting me on something
I think is a success and the ones you didn’t is a mess.
Well, you never really remembered my birthday,
Anniversaries of any sort yet it barely bothered me.
Not as much as your unwillingness to give the relationship,
Us, a name and an address.
All we had to say were a few words that started with a “yes”.
That claim is not necessary and our love is beyond papers,
It’s beyond social media, you constantly professed.
You asked me once in a while, why still this insecurity
I promised you eternity,
And you want stamps on papers like it’s a court trial.
I could only smile back at the cracks I could see
In the beautiful world, I tried to build
Together, but alas,
My eyes saw the future and yours, only the momentary pleasure.
After years of maturing, when I look back at myself,
I can tell the relation I had when a lot of men was not based on love.
I loudly and remorselessly say I sought validation.
As women, it somehow became our obligation;
To seek validation from everyone we know.
Years of belittling or maybe till this day the inequality,
Anything it maybe-
But we need validation.
So, don’t feel that I have cheated or I wanted to punish.
Please spare my character from words like sluttish.
It’s just one day, I decided to not seek validation anymore.

If you like my writings and poems,
Or maybe think it has some weight,
Support my dreams by
buying me a book to read
A simple click on the link and it would be great.

--

--

Ametaf
iPoetry

A writer fusing lessons of life. Follow me on Instagram @ametafwrites!