We Stand on the Shoulders of Giants

Prose poetry

Celeste Cav
iPoetry
3 min readOct 24, 2020

--

My feet in the park today wearing sock-shoes.

At the place where millions of years of evolution have thrust my body forward, driven by the need to survive, constantly evolving, living, and dying. My eyes are the eagles. My ears are the bats. My legs are the pumas. My arms are the orangutans. My sense of smell is the hounds.

Until finally, my body evolved to the point where it was able to support this intelligence. And BAM! I popped into this body. Here I am, at the meeting point of supreme intelligence and unlimited physical capacity.

And memory. This body has the memory of all those past beings within it. Millions of years of experiences. Millions of years of memories. Every life had 1 single purpose. To survive. To make it to the next generation. Get to the next iteration so that the physical form could one day support my divine intelligence.

And finally, it happened. The right life form existed with the physical capacity to support my thoughts. And so I popped into this body.

And I awoke. Took my first breath as an intelligent being. Got acquainted with the physical world that I knew so well from my past lives, yet, somehow, couldn’t quite remember.

I looked around. I became aware of the physical rules of this planet. I finally had my body that supported my divine nature. I learned how to navigate in this world so I could play. Finally, free at last, to play the game of physical awareness. I could experience freedom and constraint. Earthly pleasures and supreme connectedness—loneliness, pain, and joy.

My body knew what to do: survive. It contained the memory of all those creatures I used to be. It knew how to survive.

Somewhere along the way, survival was taught to mean money. Money became the way to survive. And that impulse to survive at all costs became the impulse to multiply money at all costs.

And I played the game. I played, and I played. At first, it was another fun game that comes as an embedded feature of this physical experience.

But after a while, I forgot I was playing. I got so used to handing my divine power to the physical body to survive that I forgot I was doing it. It became the default, just as feeling my way through the physical realm became the default.

I got so caught up in the game, so thoroughly entrenched in my individuality, that I forgot who I was. So thoroughly entrenched in the game of survival that I forgot my origin.

But now, I remember.

I have caught glimpses of this memory before. It would come but never stay. I would always “awake” from it, and that memory would seem like a distant dream.

But I am tired of the game now. I am tired of forgetting. I am tired of pretending like I am “little old me,” trapped in my life’s circumstances.

Today, there is no more fear. No more pretending.

I am the divine beast that learned to walk and think. I am both the created and creator. I am unlimited. I am unstoppable. And so are you. And it's time we stop pretending.

--

--