When Stars Collide

We were never meant to burn bright forever

Diana Somjarlee
iPoetry
1 min readJan 12, 2023

--

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

I’ll stop trying to listen to the thoughts in your head,
When you stop twisting the ones in mine.

I catch my face drifting closer to yours.
Apologies already escaping me,
As I read the sentiments flashing across your demeanor.

Hope slips from my grasp,
Too heavy a burden to bear.

If only you understood Astrophysics.
Then you’d know that the magnitude of a star collapsing,
Couldn’t compare to the vacuum forming around my throat,
As you speak my fears into reality.

If only I could find my words,
Then you’d know what it meant to me,
Every time your lips formed bullets,
But you swore they were roses.

Or maybe you’d feel what it felt like,
Tears streaming down my face,
As I held your heart together,
Because you couldn’t take the heat,
After you destroyed mine.

What a poetic end to a poetic time,
But it is time,
To burn.

--

--

Diana Somjarlee
iPoetry
Writer for

Creative Writer. Disabled. Poetry is my love language. I like to prove that words have power.