While Time Flows

ava may
iPoetry
Published in
1 min readAug 29, 2022
Photo by Enrique from Pexels

Here is my life in photo booth strips
Each visit brings colour to another year past
I trace the contours of change with my fingers
Mould it, shape it, trap it in glass

This place is my anchor in a swirling tempest
That trace of myself I seek to surpass
Falling victim to self-reflection, drawing
Comparisons atween this year and last

Itching to write, I anticipate the future
Sensing the significance of old photographs
Seeking profundity in a lingering second
Rekindling moments by retracing paths

How we scrabble for words while the birds raid the beds
And bats flutter by in descending darkness
How I bite on my lip when talk turns to black
Seized by a white marbled wave of sadness

How she sits and sows while time flows around her
Weaving memories into tangled threads
By an empty chair (life must go on)
Charting my growth through a stop motion lens

Thank you for reading! New to Medium, I’m a student from Edinburgh with a love for writing. If you enjoyed this then please feel free to give me a follow.

--

--