Wimpy love

A poem on an impossible relationship due to self-doubts

Lisu Mei
iPoetry
1 min readOct 6, 2022

--

Photo by Warren Wong on Unsplash

Back then, for some reason, you were both trying to start something you didn’t understand.

I can’t help falling in love with you
every time somehow I get to meet you.
But I can’t get to keep you after I realize
your company has such a high price.
I’m not sure I’m up for the compromise,
so I let these feelings down to demise.
But they revive when I go on with my life,
and somehow somewhere again I see your smile.
And I wonder what it’d be like if you were mine.

I know, and you know that you like me,
but we know for you I may be too shiny
and you know you belong to the darkness.
So we think this feeling is pure madness.
Although only you make my heart sprint,
like a bee from flower to flower in spring,
it might as well be that for you I’m too sweet.
So you choose to let the possibility slip away,
not knowing of the nights for you I didn’t sleep well.

But still, for some reason, it seems like you’re both trying to keep something you don’t understand.

--

--

Lisu Mei
iPoetry

Poetry for the heart and soul to live the sun and the fun, and survive the dark and the cold