what is it called when unreality seems challenging?

Sagarika P
iQube
Published in
3 min readAug 14, 2017

There I stood still, almost feeling lifeless, fronting a mysterious undomesticated alien in an outlandish anonymous domain. The speechmaker orating and me absolutely astonished, having no trace of my whereabouts! At that instance, all that I thought was ‘if I were in my proper senses!’. Was I experiencing a space voyage? Or was it a spaceship landed put down at my feet and an alien walking towards me? If no, had I fallen asleep all at once and began dreaming?

Before I could survive all these mess, I sensed myself positioned at the edge of a minaret-a high raised building, sophisticated cosmopolitan city. When I put my head rolling my eyeballs down the building, I was terrified estimating the approximate altitude at which I was placed. My heart almost skipped beat, hallucinating my drop down the building!

Having been in this insight, I was not able to figure out comprehend when a museum was built at my place! I could hear dreadful and frightening sounds. A ghastly whiteness spread over my face on spotting a huge dinosaur approaching me! My stomach turned to ice, having me thunderstruck!

The beast opened its wide mouth right at my face. Instantly I detached the headpiece and started panting. Having realized that till then I was actually experiencing the ‘virtual reality’, was stunned!

“Its not virtual reality until you can be tortured to death in it”, are words enchanted by Andrew Plothin and that was exactly what I had undergone.
The term virtual equates ‘near’ letting us know virtual reality is almost near reality. In technical provisions, it is nothing but a computer generated three dimensional image or an environment that can be interacted within a seemingly real or physical way by a person using special electronic equipment, such as a helmet-oculus rift fitted with a screen inside and gloves.

So it entails presenting our senses with the computer generated virtual environment that we can explore in some fashion the reality. How do we see and sense the happenings around us? A very elementary level kid will be taught about the five senses which are referred to as sensory inputs. These along with the special processing information by our brains ensure that we have a rich flow of information from the surroundings to our mind. The entire experience of reality is simply a combination of sensory information and our brain’s sense making mechanisms for that information.
So if we present our sense to a made up environment, it will more likely seem to be a reality. This is what is referred to as virtual reality.

--

--