Silicon Valley history

For global entrepreneurs: background material and thoughts on Silicon Valley

Max Khalkhali
GEX Ventures
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2022

--

The Fairchild/Shockley 8. 1960. Source

I’ve had the privilege of learning from different cultures by living, studying and working in Tehran, London, Paris, and Vancouver. Since 2015, I have travelled frequently between London and Silicon Valley to improve my startup investing skills. I plan to travel more and learn more. Many tech ecosystems still compare themselves to Silicon Valley, some even try to compete with it. The heritage and mindset of Silicon Valley cannot be copied. Even in a remote work environment, being physically there still matters. To share a bit of why I have come to this belief, below is a summary of my readings on Silicon Valley history to get you started. Leave me comments if you disagree.

Depending on which rabbit holes you end up in, this should take you no more than 2.5 hours to complete.

Start with Steve Blank’s detailed and eye opening history going back to the 1940s:

After you’ve watched the video, go over the presentation for more details. Once you…

--

--

Max Khalkhali
GEX Ventures

Disciplined outlier driven investing through VC networks