Idea — ‘The Irish Arts Festival’?

Gary Dunne
Irish Arts & Culture
2 min readOct 3, 2014

My name’s Gary Dunne.

I’ve been working/living in the arts for most of my life — as a professional musician, an educator, a promoter, a programmer etc. The usual mixed bag of a professional life in the arts.

Most of my current work is about running Irish arts events in London, mainly for The London Irish Centre in Camden.

I work between Dublin and London.

I’ve also been Creative Programmer of The London St. Patrick’s Festival, Programmer of Irish Olympic House in London 2012 and Programmer and Producer of The Irish Embassy’s ‘Irish Showcase’.

I have an idea, and I like to hear what people think. It’s called ‘The Irish Arts Festival’.

What is it?

It’s a festival of Irish arts and creativity (not sure what size yet) that happens in a different international city each year, under the title/brand ‘Irish Arts Festival’.

E.g. ‘This year, The Irish Arts Festival is in Prague. They’re bringing two days of insert great events to insert great local venues.’

To be clear, when I say ‘Irish arts’, I don’t mean exclusively traditional arts or arts with an Irish theme, I mean world class creativity from or about Ireland.

So, you’d have the ‘host city’, where the core events would be happening. You could also have lots of interesting collaborations, streaming etc happening on IrishArtsFestival.com (not yet live).

Of course, there would/could be crossover with Ireland’s Diaspora Strategy, but I view this of more of an arts initiative than a ‘connecting the Irish abroad’ thing.

With time, it might even grow in to a global happening, with event happening in different cities?

Why do it?

To provide a beautifully programmed showcase of Irish arts.
To put out positive messages about Ireland and Irish creativity.
To create a fresh, innovative platform for Irish talent.

How?

Who knows? Early days.

Key ideas:

Start small.
Quality of programming is essential.
Be innovative.

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

--

--

Gary Dunne
Irish Arts & Culture

Maker of music, events and festivals. Also Dad, mindfulness geek and runner.