A Moderate’s Manifesto

Imperfect people cannot create a perfect society. But we can do better.

Brenna Siver
Iron Ladies
2 min readSep 12, 2017

--

I refuse to be labeled or pigeonholed into any identity group. I refuse to be judged based on group identity.

I refuse to reduce the complex problems of society to a simple matter of oppression, or lack of family values, or any other such thing. I do not accept the government as the solution to all of those problems.

I refuse to be ruled by fear, hate, or desperation. I reject politically motivated violence and destruction on any side.

I respect without idolizing and criticize without demonizing. I hold my relationships, my conscience, and my humanity as more important than winning an argument, an election, or a power struggle.

I believe people can disagree on important issues and still like each other, or agree on important issues and still dislike each other. I believe in diversity of thought: that the world needs people who think differently and care about different things, but can agree to live together.

I can be right without gloating or nagging. I can be wrong and admit it. I seek truth and wisdom.

I care about people without giving them everything they want or approving of everything they do. I believe feelings are important, but not absolute. I can let you know how I feel without trying to manipulate you with my feelings.

I believe greatness is more than strength. I believe strength is more than having control over people. I believe control and authority are very different things.

I believe science is trustworthy in general, but has limitations. I believe humans are physical as well as spiritual beings, affected and limited by our bodies in ways that should not be denied. I believe the environment is far too complex for us to completely understand or control.

I look for ways to fix myself before I try to fix the world. I do not believe that imperfect people can create the perfect society. But I do believe that we can be better.

I have choices, and they affect the world around me, but not everything depends on them. I have rights, and they come with responsibilities. I have values, and I can’t help but live by them.

I am not loud or obvious. I may not be important. But I exist, and I am not alone.

--

--

Brenna Siver
Iron Ladies

Homemaker, homeschool graduate, and Bible addict.