Indoor Cycling my way to a Warrior State of Bliss

Yes, it’s pricey, but Soul Cycle brings out the #fierce in me

Elizabeth Look Biar
Iron Ladies
4 min readJul 20, 2018

--

I love Soul Cycle. I cannot get enough of Soul Cycle. It’s like a wonderful, healthy drug that makes me feel like a #warrior. I shell out $30 each time I want to feel #fierce. And, indeed, I do. One 45-minute class (or 60-minute Soul Survivor class) leaves me feeling exhilarated. I can walk into Soul feeling stressed, sad, or overwhelmed, and I walk out feeling empowered and strong. My perfect Saturday morning entails the 8:30 a.m. class, followed by an omelet with spinach, peppers, and onion. I’m telling you, after that combo, I feel resilient. My mind and body are fit and tenacious.

Soul Cycle was founded in 2006 in New York City by Julie Rice and Elizabeth Cutler who wanted an indoor riding experience to relieve stress and create community. Soul started out in a former dance studio in New York City and is now in several states with about 50,000 riders a week. That is a considerable amount of faithful (or obsessed) riders. Other cycle studios have copied their format and tweaked the formula, but Soul Cycle amped up the trend with dark studios and candlelight. Competitors include Ryde, Flywheel, Cycle Bar, and Revolution Studio.

Although the classes are very similar between competitor studios, I’m loyal to Soul Cycle in large part because of their team. The crew at the check-in desk is friendly and welcoming. The cycle instructors are motivating and consistent. Soul employs their staff full-time, so the regularity is there each week, month, and year. Each instructor has a way of incorporating their own personality and individuality into their classes.

During the interview process (or audition as it is called), the company mightily screens instructors to fit a specific class time slot. Julie Rice, founder of Soul Cycle, said in Vox, “we are casting specific traits in different people. So, for example, we call 5:00 a.m. riders our Roosters. They are super Type A and want a straightforward, intense workout and a teacher who will push them but isn’t too chatty.”

It’s easy to get into a zone and block out the rest of the world. My thoughts are zeroed in on my workout while a Soul. As I add or take off resistance, do a tap back, or pushup, it is me and my body, no one else. With a dark room, I am not cognizant of others. The different instructors have various phrases and approaches to motivating the class. Different playlists as well add to the individuality of the teachers. My favorite instructor in Houston is Pinij. Although, every instructor’s class is a great workout, attending Pinij’s class is a happy place for me.

Indoor cycling started in 1989 at Johnny G’s Spinning Headquarters in Los Angeles. Johnny Goldberg designed the first indoor spin bike based on his experience riding outdoors. According to the American Council on Exercise, spinning packs a punch for efficiency burning about 450 calories in 45 minutes. In a Time article, Penn State Associate Professor of Kinesiology Jinger Gottschall said spin “can help improve body composition, decrease fat mass and lower blood pressure and cholesterol. In every study we’ve done, we’ve seen increases in heart and lung capacity. Gottschall calls spinning ‘the optimal cardio workout’.”

Soul Cycle, and spinning in general, have its detractors. Search the internet, and you will find critics claiming the classes are unsafe, not a solid work out, and too expensive. Well, call me the Kool-Aid drinker, but I disagree. While $30 is expensive (and Soul Cycle does not offer monthly memberships as other cycle studios and boutique gyms do), I have toned arms and legs to show for my hard work. Additionally, Soul keeps my mind sharp. I’m not a dancer and lack all rhythm, so the choreography keeps me my mind focused and sharp as I intensely concentrate on the moves. A free tip: for those movement-challenged riders, pick the back row! My off-beat cadence isn’t quite as noticeable back there.

As with all work out regimens, I try to listen to my body to avoid over-exertion and injury. A little common sense can go a long way. If you are new to indoor cycle, start slow and monitor your body. Take the first class just to figure out what the heck is going on. You’ll get your spin groove on and be addicted in no time! You, too, can feel like a warrior.

--

--

Elizabeth Look Biar
Iron Ladies

Christian. Mom. Wife. Beach Goer. Champagne Drinker. Chocolate Lover.