Devblog 44: Things, Stuff & Something Else

IronEqual
IronEqual
Published in
4 min readSep 26, 2017

Can you guess what this weekly devblog will be about?
If you guessed “what they did last week”, well, you win!
If you guessed anything else, you might have some issues and I’m afraid the only cure for that would be to read the entire devblog, at least twice.
(We have to get our stats up alright?)

NIELS (@FUCKGAMEDEV)

AYYYY

IronEqual

I’m in this image somewhere

There was an event at the Serre Numérique, where our offices are, about employment & things like that. I got to meet a lot of different and interesting people. Some of them were not really what we are looking for, but it was still cool to talk about their professional experience. Feno and I also started a collection of what not to do when presenting a CV.

I wrote this week’s article, titled What I Care About In Game Design And Why You Should Too”. It’s basically an insight on what I think about when creating a game, or anything else really.

I also did the usual day to day stuff. It was kind of a shitty week on this part, with small mistakes and/or setbacks that are nothing more than mildly annoying, but still manage to make your overall week tedious.

FUCKGAMEDEV.+++

I released 2 unique experiences, HER and REDPRISON.

HER

The person who purchased REDPRISON also did a cool thing: A kind of “jam” based on the title. Anyone creating something for this REDPRISON jam will be given a copy of the game by its owner!
If you want to check it out, go here.
It’s really cool to see these kind of initiatives coming from people reacting to the unique build concept.

REDPRISON

I also made progress on some ongoing projects, and started new ones, like I always do.

bye bye reader

FENO (@madebyfeno)

Last week, we announced MAZE: The Movie (JOKE):

I finished an app for an escape game:

I also started working on some new contract work for “Le Chaudron”, a platform to keep track of learnings.

KERYANN (@KeryannM)

Hey!

Goods Train Fever

I worked on GTF this week, it was horrible! But yeah we’ve got all our 100 levels done! There’s still some QA and level design tweaks to do but it’s ok.

REPULSE: Galactic Rivals

On REPULSE among many things uninteresting to talk about I integrated two of the four environments. (They still need some polishing…)

NATHAN (@grange_nathan)

Goods Train Fever

GTF is almost done. Last week I showed you the new Trophy system with white blocks, Benjamin finished it, now it looks like that:

We also made the game available to many people with a Beta. You can now download the beta on Android but will communicate more about it in the next few days.

If you play right now, levels may be too hard/simple and will change, some bugs will still be here and that’s all, our beta build available online is near Gold! We have 63 levels available in it but the 37 missing are in the hands of our playtesters. You can expect them for this week. Finally, this weekend was a great weekend:

SEE YOU!

BENJAMIN (@Valgoun16)

Goods Train Fever

Last week, I worked on making different trophy awards for the player. the first 16 are pieces of a sliced version of the locomotive and the last one is a more classic trophy. We also finished all the levels as Nathan said.

Camera Tracking

Because of some potential needs, I trained myself with camera tracking with blender. It’s quite fun to do, here is a result I got. It’s far from perfect but It works.

I added the 2 pillars (right of the screen)

--

--

IronEqual
IronEqual

Indie gaming studio. Bringing you awesome content randomly!