Devblog 49.5: We do lots of stuff

IronEqual
IronEqual
Published in
5 min readNov 7, 2017

We had a bit of delay in our weeklies, posting them on a sunday to talk about what we did 8 days before was not the best. So we’re back at a normal pace, posting at the beginning of the week about the previous one!

We have been pretty productive during these last weeks:

FENO (@madebyfeno)

Hey,

ROBBERS

I started working on the skill tree with one idea in head: representing the skill tree in 3 dimensions. It creates some issues to represent it in a understandable manner, so I tried to think it to be as accessible as possible. Here’s a concept:

MAZE

Last week I worked on various elements: balancing weapon upgrades, added a sniper, researching around the UI and menus, some debugging and kept making progress on adding feedbacks to the game.

Some mock-ups of the online lobby & crafting board

Here’s a video compiling some brand new footage and some older kick-ass footage :

TRADOSAURE

I tried to improve the overall UX of the a trading game we’re working on. I also had the opportunity to implement some of these changes directly in Unity.

KERYANN (@KeryannM)

Hey! Last week I took some vacations… but I’ve still worked on REPULSE … as always!

REPULSE: Galactic Rivals

I am working on optimization, polishing and small bugs fixes.

I had troubles baking the lights in the four environment, because Unity isn’t really transparent on what should be the good practices … luckily for me the Unity community is really helpful!

So, to reduce the very very long light baking time for each scene, I had to play with different settings, such as the Indirect Resolution in the Lighting window.

Then for each big static object, I tweaked its Scale In Lightmap and Lightmap Parameters in order to decrease, their importance, their size, that they were taking in the baking process.

NIELS (@FUCKGAMEDEV)

AYYYYY

IronEqual

It was my turn to teach a few things to people, so I did that for 2 days. I introduced them to the ChatBots, and the mobile production pipeline & how to use the stores to build your game.
It was very interesting and I can’t wait to do it again!
As always, I did some boring paperwork stuff, but nothing too annoying or tedious. Just boring.

Tradosaure

We had a deadline on monday (in other words, yesterday). I did a lot of patterns for the curve, some of them are to be recognized by the player to know if the value will go up or down at the end of it, some of them are just “fillers”.

I really liked doing it, which is pretty cool, because I still have a whole lot more work on for the final version!

FUCKGAMEDEV.+++

I did a lot of builds in the last 2 weeks. My goal is to have 4 experiences for the event I’ll attend at the end of the month. Most of it is garbage for now, but some of them have a real potential, so I plan to rework harder on them this week.

I finished an experience I planned for a specific person. I’m very proud of it. Hector did one of the song for the experience. You can listen to it on his soundcloud page, to get the overall mood of this piece. It’s inspired by Richard Serra.

FACTORY DREAM

Oh and I released another experience, BLIND LOVE.

BLIND LOVE
I’ll probably release something else soon

NATHAN (@grange_nathan)

HELLO, this week we participated to an event about Multiplayer in Games. We met some great guys who will be a great help in the near future for MAZE. Also, they had some great music and comfy couches.

This place in Lille is called “L’Hybride”, it’s great.

I also played a bit of a witch hunt this week. On one of the websites we are in charge of (for a B2B client) got “hacked”. The web hosting company blocked it and we took some time to clear every malicious files and to make sure it will not happen again. And we tried getting a location of the hacker. A big part of the week was about webdev. We’ll see next week if I work on a game at all.

Oh and Goods Train Fever is released on iOS and Android and we have an event about it soon™!

BENJAMIN (@Valgoun16)

Patcher

I’m still working on my VRgame for school, I mostly helped on the environment and the synthesizer. Here are some snapshot of the actual prototype :

--

--

IronEqual
IronEqual

Indie gaming studio. Bringing you awesome content randomly!