Devblog 3: Update on REPULSE: Galactic Rivals!

IronEqual
IronEqual
Published in
5 min readDec 12, 2016

FENO (@feno42)

Field Trip

I didn’t make that much progress on Field Trip but I know you love to see some kids having a hard time so here is a new trap:

IronContent

This week I built a little internal tool to ease our communication and content creation. The platform gathers all our videos, uploads it on Gfycat and converts it in different formats to respect the limitations of the different social medias.

I Want To Be Astronaut

I Want To Be Astronaut is a little game I’ve started where you embody … Feno. This is not a horror game but I’m definitely pulling some weird shit out. I want to question people’s praises, doubts and success with it.

NATHAN (@grange_nathan)

Hi, it’s Nathan aka “Enol”.

TiltBrush Viewer

Quick reminder, this is a little project on Android (Carboard) to take a look in VR at TiltBrush’s exported files.

Two main things happened on this project this week. The first one being… colors!

You can now see the colors on TiltBrush’s exported models. The lighting is not perfect, I want it to be as close to the TiltBrush one as I can. This is great, the project is now almost at the same level of usage as the VR viewer of Sketchfab. Take a look at it!

I still need to figure out how the user will move around. Teleporting to fixed points is the quickest way to do it but I think it’s better to be free to move anywhere. Some other options like scaling or changing the environment are on the way. I stopped a bit on that part because of the second main thing. Oculus Touch is out since Monday, so is Medium (a great VR Sculpting software), and this one can also export your awesome Sculpts! As I am a terrible artist I rushed to try it out and make sure the “TiltBrush Viewer” was able to work with Medium’s files.

It almost worked!

It’s now more of a “VR 3D Model Viewer for Cardboards”.

I mainly made weird (really weird) heads in Medium. I do not seem able to do anything else for the moment. As you can see, the same problem I had with TiltBrush is now here with Medium, goodbye colors… And testing Medium files shows me another problem, really really really (like really) high poly things (which is every Medium Sculpt after some work on them) can do two bad things: Destroy performance on mobile or Cannot be loaded at all in Unity due to technical limitations. I need to work on that or limit the user files to some degree to ensure everyone have the best experience possible.

I also started something new, I’m not going to talk about it this week. I can only tell you two things: VR and Leap Motion.

Oh and here is a compilation of some of my arts (yes, it’s only heads. I may use them for the VR Dev Camera project in the future):

See you next week!

BENJAMIN (@Valgoun16)

I’ve done a lot of different things this week : 3D modeling, VR and more classic gamedev.

3D Modeling

On Zinzinterstellar, an installation project we have in class, I worked on modeling and texturing our space ship. The idea was to make a ridiculous shuttle with exaggerated shapes but to keep the rotation of each module readable. Because our game is mainly inspired by Space Goofs, a french cartoon, I chose the same kind of colors. The main challenge for me was that I’m not an artist and find it very difficult to come to a decent result.

Audio Detection Game in VR

This week was the first time I developed for VR and I chose to make my music game compatible with VR. It was pretty straightforward to implement the Oculus SDK with Unity. I focused my time on the design of the game, especially the controls. I couldn’t just use the orientation of the player to steer the character in the game because it is very dynamic and we need to turn a lot. I found it better to turn the character by tilting the head to right or to the left. I just use the vertical velocity of the headset to trigger the jump.

Imagine Cup

The Imagine Cup was the most time consuming work of my week. I had to implement all the decisions we took last week with the team: the character now rotates around the camera, can lock an enemy (and rotate around him), and is able to push and pull blocks. The camera follows the character and doesn’t go through walls. Enemies follow the character if they detect him. These features could seem easy to make but I tried a lot of different implementations to find the best each time.

KERYANN (@KeryannM)

REPULSE :

Hi! This week I’ve been working on several new modes for REPULSE!

Despite always having something to modify with the game menu, I had the time the develop three other modes:

  • RAM: No cubes. Dashing is your only way to eliminate your friends in the death rays!
  • FLOW: The cubes are deadly! If you hold or touch them, you get eliminated. Attract and Repel the cubes to make it touch your friends!
  • TAG: When a player gets hit by a cube, this cube takes the player’s color. At the end of the timer, the players with the most cubes of their color are destroyed!

So far, the BOMB Mode was the most appreciated, but FLOW is so great that we’ve played it many times last night and it’ll sure be the next favorite one!

ZINZINTERSTELLAR :

I’ve also been working for some scholar project that we called Zinzinterstellar, a cooperative game where four players have to survive as long as they can managing to control a damaged spaceship.

The spaceship possesses four different modules that can rotate around the ship and can be activated with a specific button. But only two modules can rotate at the same time!

Players have to be tactical, quickly take decisions and communicate efficiently in order to activate and rotate the modules with coordination.

NIELS (@NielsTiercelin)

Hi!

Labyrinth

This week I mostly worked on Labyrinth. I implemented a new interaction, the “golden wall”, you can encounter when walking in the labyrinth.

Little Experiences Compilation

I also started compiling and finishing some little prototypes I did last year. They didn’t make it into a full game and will be part of a bigger compilation.

See you next week !

--

--

IronEqual
IronEqual

Indie gaming studio. Bringing you awesome content randomly!