Chapter [3] — Geocoding

André Ferreira
2 min readMar 4, 2020

--

Photo by Capturing the human heart. on Unsplash

I close my eyes. I feel the warm sun hitting me in the face, making my eyelids dance in shades of red and yellow. For a brief moment I almost drift into sleep.

I open my eyes. A cruise ship towers in front of me like a skyscraper, casting a shadow over the building, almost stealing my precious sun. Almost.

I look to the side and see a familiar face. Still discombobulated from that fleeting moment of rest, I find myself thinking “How did I get here?”.

In the pursuit of something better, if you get stuck in the same place for too long you begin to fall into the pit trap of assuming that what you want is far, far away. That the grass is greener on the other side. That somehow you can measure your progress by how far away you are from home.

I look into the river in front of me. It’s all so familiar. At the same time, a mix of Portuguese and English is sung around me, with the occasional Spanish floating around. I get lost and confused in time and space again.

I always thought that change was, at the very least, a plane ticket away. But it’s not that far. Not far from my home. Not far from where I grew up. Not far from the places I like to visit time and time again. It’s not far, it’s right here.

I close my eyes, waiting for another brief moment of rest. The clock strikes 2. Time to go inside. Time for some more change.

To see more entries of this series check my medium profile: https://medium.com/@andre.f.v.ferreira

#ironhack #lisbon #2020

--

--

André Ferreira

Former fisherman / aspiring web developer. Sharing my journey, anxieties and projects.