Breaking Cash Rewards

Jayson DeLancey
Irrationally Rational
1 min readAug 11, 2015

I use bill pay through my bank to send a check to PG&E every month for my energy usage. The only reward I get for paying on time is that I get to keep the lights on.

On the other hand, I just signed up for a new credit card that should yield 1.85% paid as cash rewards on everything (with higher percentages for specific categories). I don’t carry a balance so I use the credit card whenever I can and pay it off each month.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/ameriswede/2500097744

To pay PG&E by credit card they charge a $1.25 convenience fee. The convenience is that I have to login to their website instead of paying everything directly from my bank. There is no bill pay to help or recurring charges that can be scheduled to pay the balance automatically.

Still, anytime the bill exceeds $71.42 it seems rational to use the credit card since I would do better than break even.

--

--

Jayson DeLancey
Irrationally Rational

Manage Developer Relations @Dolby; Maker at Robot Garden; Previously HERE, GE, Rackspace, DreamWorks Animation, MathWorks, Carnegie Mellon