My 4 Things of Influence: Victory Nwabu-Ekeoma

A person of influence is genuine and passionate. Nwabu-Ekeoma, 18, Scotland.

What Does Influence Mean To You?

Influence is the ability to directly or indirectly affect something or someone in a meaningful way, positive or negative.

What qualities do people/things of influence have?

For me, a person of influence is genuine and passionate. That’s what draws me to listen to what they have to say. If they are influencing me to buy something, to support something, or to do something; it’s their passion — their genuine love for and interest in what they’re telling me or doing, that makes me want to follow them.

What is one person of influence and why?

It’s hard to choose one person of influence because of the way different figures exert influence over different facets of my life, be it politically or personally. Some of my favourite musicians like Beyoncé, Kendrick Lamar, J Cole, Solange, Wretch 32, Dave, etc, use their platforms of influence to highlight important issues such and racial issues, or to empower marginalized groups, etc. There are also so many other creatives, academics, sports personnel, etc. that use their gifts in whatever field they are in to do their part in creating better representation for minorities in that field.

What is one brand of influence and why?

A brand of influence to me right now would be Rihanna’s makeup line, Fenty Beauty. What Rih’s created has effectively upturned the level of inclusivity that exists within the makeup industry, She’s used her influence to create a brand that celebrates inclusivity and now we see other makeup brands rushing to do what she’s doing, to make their makeup accessible to POC and people to whom makeup is usually harder to access (i.e. albino people, etc) and to make sure they’re marketing in such a way that POC can see themselves accurately represented in the beauty industry.

What is one experience of influence and why?

An experience of influence for me is my experience as a girl, as a black girl, as a teenage black girl and different multifaceted layers of that experience, its lows and highs. This experience will exert its influence over me forever. How I navigate through it will always influence my interactions, my relationships, my choices, etc.

What is one “system” or platform of influence and why?

A major ‘system’ of influence in my life has been and will always be Rookie Mag. This online platform was created as a space to navigate the teenage experience. It’s not a patronizing “this is what it means to be a teen” platform, as the majority of work being contributed is by young people. It provides everything from practical tips to navigate everyday life to pieces ranting about things we experience. To me, that ability to be connected with thousands of teens over shared experiences, to know you’re not insane for feeling the things you feel, and for people to beautifully create work that you resonate with, is so incredibly invaluable. Knowing you’re not alone through the ups and downs of adolescence is so important and Rookie provides that.

--

--

The Irregular Report by Irregular Labs
The Irregular Report

Irregular Labs connects the ideas, opinions and insights of girl and gender nonconforming Gen Zs to the world.