My 4 Things of Influence: Wendy Mekwunye

Confidence, persuasion, and passion. By Mekwunye, 20, Nigeria.

What Does Influence Mean To You?

Influence to me is when someone drives or motivates me to be the best that I can be in whatever I do without making me feel inferior based on my previous achievements.

What qualities do people/things of influence have?

Being a shy person, I personally see someone great at public speaking as an influential person. Confidence, persuasion, and passion are the qualities I believe an influential person should possess.

What is one person of influence and why?

Tess Holliday is a person of influence to me because she is extremely confident in her own skin, despite the unrealistic beauty standards that society has imposed on models, and she also finds the time to balance work, health and family. She even found time to write a book!

What is one brand of influence and why?

Disney is a brand of influence because it creates a platform for young actors, reaches most individuals during their childhood and is a source of happiness for everyone.

What is one experience of influence and why?

For me, one experience of influence was placing among the top 100 entries in the Nigerian students’ poetry prize. This experience is gold to me because it keeps me going anytime I find myself in a situation I feel I cannot handle. It makes me feel powerful and gives me the confidence to accomplish whatever task is in front of me.

What is one “system” or platform of influence and why?

One system of influence is Tumblr. This is because it possesses this raw feeling — it allows people to be vulnerable without judgement, unlike other systems.

--

--

The Irregular Report by Irregular Labs
The Irregular Report

Irregular Labs connects the ideas, opinions and insights of girl and gender nonconforming Gen Zs to the world.