I Am

Jessica Johnson
Is that poetry?
Published in
1 min readFeb 26, 2014

I am hopelessly tormented

I wonder if a standardized score could kill me

I hear the sounds that others ignore

I see the worst that people deny

I want to be taken seriously, but not apart

I am hopelessly tormented

I pretend that believing in god will save me

I feel like one equation defines me

I touch the future lightly

I worry that people don’t like me

I cry when I think no one’s looking

I am hopelessly tormented

I understand why people don’t like poetry

I say things I probably shouldn’t

I dream about failing, and falling, and dying

I try to learn 5-7 GRE words a day

I hope someone reads this and hates it, but likes me a little bit more

I am hopelessly tormented

--

--

Jessica Johnson
Is that poetry?

Project maven at Secret Weapon, where we help companies become more awesome on the internet.