Wild Card

Neal Allen
Isaac Ross and Liberia
3 min readDec 3, 2018

Wild Card

The intended purpose of this photo gallery is to illustrate the many portraits we have in our house alone. There are more in our family, whether they are at my uncles house or in storage, and so it is easy to lose track of who is who.

Immediate Family

Me. I get my own portrait.
My brother Spencer Patrick Allen and my sister Elizabeth Tyler Allen
Bottom Row: Elizabeth Neal Allen (Mom), Elizabeth Kennard Neal (Grandmother) Top Row: John Kennard Neal (Uncle), Bernard Neeson Neal (Pops)

The Ancestors

Various ancestors besides Isaac Ross II that hang in our house. We are good at keeping the couples together.

Samuel Tyler and Elizabeth Bray Johnson (husband/wife, great-great-great-great grandparents on Neal side)
Marie Fanny Labatut (great-great-great-great grrandmoher on the Kennard side) and her father and grandfather both named Jean Baptiste Labatut (There is some New Orleans/French blood in my family)
Edward and Chloe Duffy (great-great grandparents, also on Kennard side)

The mystery portraits?

Not sure why we would have them if they are not related to us. One can only hope…

I see this portrait everyday because it hangs in the stiarway next to my bedroom, yet I have no clue who this is. Freaky.

It’s weird thinking about all of the portraits in my house, but they now have more meaning to me since I know how I am related to (most of) them. I hope this shows how random it was that there were about 10 random non-immediate family portraits hanging, and my friend happened to take down the one of Isaac Ross II. What a fortunate discovery that started this entire project.

--

--