just a heads up

This is where you can find me for the next two years.

Katie Kragh
Island Living
Published in
3 min readAug 20, 2013

--

Dear friends&family,

Welcome to my blog! Take a seat, hope you’ll stay a while, as I prepare to share with you the living, breathing experiences of a future Peace Corps volunteer in the Kingdom of Tonga!

:: In case you were curious ::

The Kingdom of Tonga is in the South Pacific, and comprised of a bunch of islands-176 to be exact-52 of which are inhabited by 103,000 people. They still have a king, the only lasting monarchy in the South Pacific, which is super cool! Apparently, Captain James Cook stumbled on Tonga in 1773, and after being so pleasantly received, the country has since been referred to as the Friendly Islands. I figure this is a good sign for myself and other incomers!

A map of Tonga.

:: What will I be doing, you ask? ::

Teaching! I assume if you’re reading this, you know me well enough to know how much I love kids, and I could not have asked for a better assignment. I will be teaching English at an elementary school; specific ages I don’t know yet, nor do I know which island I will be on. I figure a lot of questions will be answered once I arrive, so as soon as I know, you will too!

:: How I am preparing ::

Packing :: You must know me really well if you are aware of, or even better yet, have personally experienced my irrational hatred of packing. I will be the first to admit that, yes, I do have hoarding tendencies, but it’s only for the sentimental things I swear! Regardless, I am making a conscious effort to be a minimalist for once. The Peace Corps sets limitations on the maximum weight and dimensions we are allowed for our two checked bags + one carry on, so I am really trying to keep myself to those limits, or even less if possible (Ha doubtful).

THE packing list. Not convinced it will ever fit into two small bags, only time will tell!

Mental Prep :: I received my invitation to the Kingdom of Tonga the day before I graduated from college, so needless to say, it was a crazy and overwhelming weekend to process the major changes I was setting myself up for. This summer, in leading up to my September 1st departure, I have realized how good I am at avoiding the thought of the future. I guess it’s a good thing, attempting to live and enjoy the present, and I’ve had a really great summer doing so. But now, as the date approaches, I realize how I might not have really internalized the big step I am about to take. And to be entirely honest, I might not even come to terms with this realization until the plane lands in Tonga, so that should be quite the plane ride!

What to expect :: I’ve connected with multiple Returned Peace Corps Volunteers, and current ones serving in Tonga through Facebook. This has been SO incredibly helpful, I can’t even tell you! One blog in particular is great, and is written by a great girl named Mandy, check it out here. Blogs like this have been especially useful because her pictures give me an idea of what the communities look like, what her home looks like, what she eats etc. So great! Hope my blog may be just as helpful to another PCV in the future!

People keep asking if I’m excited, and of course I’m excited. I have NO idea what to expect, and I think that is what makes this next stage of my life such an adventure. I look forward to what this beautiful country and its people have to share with me, and hope I can learn and take in as much as possible during my two year service.

That’s all for now, folks!

--

--