Welcome and Goodbye Songs

Stephanie Katz
Island Story Time
Published in
Jan 26, 2022
Photo by Maegan Luckiesh on Unsplash

I wrote my Welcome and Goodbye songs to incorporate the concept of a special story time on the island, because my library is on Anna Maria Island. I couldn’t resist adding a manatee into the song, since we are in Manatee County, FL, and it’s very common to see wild manatees in the bay and canals here. I usually have my stuffed manatee help me sing the songs, which gets the kids excited. Both songs are sung to the tune of “The Farmer in the Dell” and are short and easy for kids and parents to memorize.

Welcome Song

It’s island story time,
It’s island story time,
High-ho the manatee-o,
It’s island story time!

Goodbye Song

Story time is done,
Story time is done,
We had so much fun,
Story time is done!

--

--