Ramshackle

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
Isolation

--

Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

Some mornings I wake up
like a ramshackle house
on a deserted piece of land
in the middle of nowhere

I have a solid foundation,
but the years of just being
have taken their toll and
left me in a state of disrepair

And I don’t necessarily look
like I am about to fall down
but the years are just weighing
on me like a soaking wet coat

I don’t know if it’s a case of
poor construction or the
years of weather anomalies
that has me so bedraggled

So I creak and bend to rise
and face the morning sun
only to realize that it’s not
me, that is so ramshackle,
it is the rest of the world

© Jonathan Greene 2024

If you liked this, you might like this as well:

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Isolation

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com