Welcome to Isolation

A Place To Call My Own

Jonathan Greene
Isolation

--

Photo by Reymark Franke on Unsplash

A place to call my own
a tiny shoebox in the corner of this room
where I can leave my letters to self
and allow them to float together
in harmonic reverie

I’ve created and run so many publications on Medium. But none for myself. I’ve loved them all, but the only home I’ve had for my work, just my work, has been my profile page. Even with the upgrades to the profile page settings and customization tools afforded us, it wasn’t enough. I wanted a place to stash things and organize them that was just for me. A place to call my own.

Isolation is that place. A home for my personal poetry. Not for all of my poetry. I still love submitting poems to my own publications, Assemblage and Loose Words, and also to P.S. I Love You (for Poetry Sunday), A Cornered Gurl, Weeds and Wildflowers, The Junction, Resistance Poetry, and House of Haiku. But this place is special. It’s all mine.

I can curate my own collections. I can finally adjust the layout of my own works. I can be free to do whatever I want because it’s my little slice of solitude. Isolation.

At first, I worried how I would get enough works in here for it to look good since I rarely publish poetry outside of a publication…

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Isolation

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com