Interview with Amanda Rosse: Associate Publisher

Blooming Twig
Issues That Matter
Published in
2 min readJan 17, 2015
thumbnail-1

We asked our own Blooming Twig Associate Publisher Amanda Rosse some questions about herself and her work here. Of course she gave us brilliant and inspiring answers!

Where do you currently live?

I currently live in Sioux Falls, SD with my boyfriend. It’s weird being back in my hometown living, at this age I always imagined living in some big West Coast City. With no snow. Here that is all there is. Snow. And traffic cones.

What kind of work do you do for Blooming Twig? What projects are you working on?

That’s a loaded question. I’m the Associate Publisher of Marketing and Operations. I help build our company, work closely with the Founder to execute his vision, edit books, work with clients, and a whole hodge pods of random work that gets thrown my way.

What advice would you give to new or struggling writers?

Develop the habit. Write 100 words a day. Everyone has time for that. I had great professors in college who told me that. I always remember this one visual a writing professor of mine, Steven Wingate told me.

For every day you write, add a piece of paper to your stack. Every day you don’t, take three away. Start the habit strong, because when you are starting you don’t have 3 papers to lose every day you miss.

Who are your literary heroes?

Oh so many. Dani Johnson for more than just her books. She’s my hero and mentor. Jennifer Crusie is one. Her books get better with age. JK Rowling because she is such a strong woman, and her books are beautiful.

What is your favorite book and/or genre and why?

Books… So many. The Bible. Jane Eyre. Unlimited by Jillian Michaels. Genre is better. I love Gothic novels. If I go back for my Master’s my thesis will be all about moors and dark castle corridors. They are brilliant, grotesque, and ever so lovely.

What inspires you?

People.

What is the weirdest dream you have had?

I have far too many vivid dreams to pick one. I do dream about Zombies a lot. I watch too much Walking Dead.

What is it like to work for Blooming Twig?

Great! It’s so diverse.

What is your favorite aspect of Blooming Twig?

I love that we care about our people. They are so important to us, really. Every time someone’s internship ends it’s hard on us to say goodbye. I love that we teach them valuable lessons.

What is one thing you hope people take away from Blooming Twig Books?

That’s a hard one. Strength, I believe. And perseverance and calm. Plus kick-butt editing skills.

--

--

Blooming Twig
Issues That Matter

New York and Tulsa based publishing, branding, thought leadership agency. #IssuesThatMatter #BrandsThatMatter #BooksThatMatter