Interview with Suzie Vander Vorste: Editorial Director

Blooming Twig
Issues That Matter
Published in
3 min readFeb 28, 2015
Headshot photo of Suzie Editorial Director at Blooming Twig

How long have you been working at Blooming Twig?

I first came to Blooming Twig as an intern in October, 2014, and I entered into the position of Editorial Director in December, 2014. I am quite excited about all the opportunities in my role since I can work on an abundance of writing and editing projects alongside the rest of our talented team.

Why Blooming Twig? What is the one thing that made you choose this job?

In August of 2014, I completed my M.A. in English studies and took a position at an office. In a matter of months, I realized that I felt like one half of my world was missing — the half with stories, writing projects, and editing. When I heard that Blooming Twig was accepting applications for its internship program, I couldn’t wait to apply. I choose to work here because Blooming Twig offers a flexible schedule, the chance to collaborate with amazing people and clients, and a set place in my day-to-day life where I can continue to grow in my writing and editing skills.

Have you always been interested in literature and writing?

When I think about kids, it seems like there are some that gravitate towards books more than others. For me, I can’t remember not loving books. Growing up, my mother always let me have as many books as I wanted, and I certainly took advantage of it. I also feel fortunate that I had a list of several English teachers who helped me keep my interest in literature and writing.

What are some of your favorite authors and/or books?

I think any book-lover would say this is such a difficult question! I have genres of literature that I often turn to, including dystopian, detective/mysteries, war, and apocalyptic narratives. I am quite fond of Orwell’s 1984 and Burgess’ A Clockwork Orange.

Do you have any advice for new writers?

The advice I hear most is to write every day to build writing as a habit — and it works. I found that I produce the most writing when I follow this and am disciplined; however, I enjoy writing the most when I write for a purpose. Whether it’s for a class or because I want to write an essay to send out to journals, writing with that goal in mind, at the end of the road, proves most helpful for me because I know my effort is going towards something.

What career advice would you give your eighteen-year-old self?

I would tell her that she does not know it all, even though she thinks she does. That the life plan she visualizes ahead of her will twist, bend, and transform because that is how life works — life shapes us as we go. When I was eighteen, I decided I wanted to teach high school English. While I am glad that I identified a dream to pursue, I wish now that I would have also looked harder to see all that I could have done. The older I get, the more I believe that I can do whatever I set my mind to, since self-confidence helps people achieve their goals as they take each step closer to accomplishing them.

It’s Friday night. What are you up to? How do you spend your free time?

I would love to say that I go out and do something special every Friday night, but I am a bit of a homebody. If I am not meeting friends for dinner or something like that, I am at home with Netflix and my cat.

What inspires you?

I feel inspired when I witness or learn about what people are capable of doing. I whole-heartedly believe that people can better themselves and the world around them. Perhaps this is why I love literature and writing so much, because they are activities that push people to think about the world beyond themselves, to reflect, and better yet, to empathize. When something makes me feel compelled to act in order to improve myself or to help others, I consider it inspirational.

--

--

Blooming Twig
Issues That Matter

New York and Tulsa based publishing, branding, thought leadership agency. #IssuesThatMatter #BrandsThatMatter #BooksThatMatter