SMiLe Series — The Little Things

Blooming Twig
Issues That Matter
Published in
3 min readJan 30, 2015

Smiling is wonderful. It feels good, it’s easy to do, and it’s contagious. They say that laughter is the best medicine, and it’s dreadfully difficult to laugh without smiling! That can’t be a coincidence. I’ve always believed that people who smile a lot live longer. My grandfather, one of the most influential people in my life, always told me to “keep smiling.” Though it can be a challenge to keep that promise, I think I’ve been doing pretty well so far.

Unfortunately, nobody has a grin permanently plastered on their face. In the coldness of winter, finding things to smile about can be taxing. We all have those moments where we dread the day ahead of us before it has even started. At least, I choose to believe that it’s not just me.

In order to battle the harsh weather and temperament that January brings with it, I’d like to encourage everyone to keep their eyes fixed on the little things that make them happy. Similar to the straw on the camel’s back, small pleasantries can add up quickly, leaving a big ol’ grin in their wake. For example, I’m partial to soft things. I’ll smile at the end of most days, no matter how torturous they seem, if I can snuggle up to something that reaches “kitten fur” on the softness scale. Kid’s TV shows make me smile, too. Sure, they’re often predictable. But their brief instances of mature concepts appeal to my outer 22-year-old, while the general silliness and vibrant colors entertain my inner 6-year-old.

In the French film Amelie, the director takes “enjoying the little things” to the next level. Each important character is introduced alongside a few seemingly insignificant things that they enjoy. For example, the story’s title character likes “dipping her hand into sacks of grain, cracking crème brulèe with a teaspoon, and skipping stones at St. Martin’s Canal.” These are not activities that require particularly special circumstances or the company of others to partake in; yet they’re simple, fun, and important to her. What if everyone started introducing themselves to strangers with the little things that they like? Would we find joy in newfound common ground, develop an interest in the other person’s tastes, or would we dismiss the strange facts altogether? I’d be willing to give it a go and see what happens!

Keeping track of small things that make you happy can help alleviate some of the stress of day-to-day life. I, for one, enjoy ripping the factory sealed plastic off of Blu-Rays, DVDs, video games, and pretty much anything else that’s packaged in this way. I get a kick out of the sound it makes, and releasing the kraken of my new merchandise feels freeing somehow. It isn’t something that I experience every day, either, which makes it all the more special.

Hold on to the little things that make you smile. Take note of them, and see if they influence the tone of your day. They might seem insignificant in the grand scheme of things, but they help you get through the rough and tumble nature of life, and that makes them important. As always: keep smiling.

--

--

Blooming Twig
Issues That Matter

New York and Tulsa based publishing, branding, thought leadership agency. #IssuesThatMatter #BrandsThatMatter #BooksThatMatter