Books, Review

Book Review: Design for the Mind by Victor Yocco

What I have learned from reading this book, published by Manning Publications

--

Image by Author

I have always been fascinated by psychology, but my IT background (and also a bit humanistic, to tell the truth) has always limited me in understanding this study area. Yet, when working in the data science sector or the field of web applications, we should always consider that there are always people who act according to behavioral models described by the psychology behind the data and websites.

Intrigued about applying psychological techniques to data science and web application implementation, I read the book Design For the Mind, Seven Psychological Principles of Persuasive Design by Victor Yocco. The book describes applying seven psychological principles to implement user-oriented web applications. In a certain way, these principles can also be applied to data storytelling, a sector in which I am particularly interested ☺.

Before describing these seven principles, I would like to report the definition of psychology reported by the author in the first chapter:

This book focuses on psychology, the study of the mental processes that lead to human behavior, and how you can apply it to design.

--

--

Angelica Lo Duca
IT Books, Courses, and Training Programs

Researcher | +1M Views | I write on Data Science, Python, Tutorials, and, occasionally, Web Applications | Author of Data Storytelling with Altair and AI