Implementing Health Checks for ASP.NET Core: A deep dive

Using pre-built health check libraries, and how to build one of your own

Christopher Laine
IT Dead Inside
Published in
8 min readJul 14, 2019

--

Photo courtesy of Negative Spae

In my last post, I took you through an introduction to ASP.NET Core health checks in your asp.net core microservices.

This time around, I thought I’d pick up where I left off with a more concrete example. I received a number of requests for more detail on how to actually implement health checks in a real-world scenario, so I thought I’d build an example so you can see health checks in action.

As before, I’ve whipped up a GitHub repo so you can see the code for yourself.

Note: In order to get the most out of the examples, you will need to be running Docker, as the example is a self-contained example with a couple Docker containers…

--

--