30 Minutes/Day Can Make You Happy

Dan Charbonneau
IT Learning with CBT Nuggets
7 min readFeb 11, 2019

--

I’ve got the time. After all, there are 1,440 minutes in a day, and a good night’s sleep only uses 480. That leaves almost a thousand minutes.

Photo by Agê Barros on Unsplash

Can just 30 minutes a day really make an impact, improve your life and make you happier? Oh yeah.

At CBT Nuggets, all employees are required to spend 30 minutes/day on training. The subject matter is anything that will help them be better at their job, anything that will help them be a better professional, or anything that will help them be a better person. The idea is to improve yourself so you can improve your team, and to improve your team so you can improve the mission of your company. In the case of CBT Nuggets, our mission is to continually improve the learning experience for the IT professional. And now I’ve used the word “improve” five times (six including that one) in the last few lines of text. If you want to skip to the end of this story, the TLDR version, my conclusion, is that happiness is found through improving yourself.

To begin, I’d like to dispel some common myths about happiness based on my experiences.

Myth #1: A crap-ton of money will make me happy

What it’s like to be rich: I started CBT Nuggets 20 years ago. We now have over 200 employees, and while I don’t have Jeff Bezos money, or even…

--

--

Dan Charbonneau
IT Learning with CBT Nuggets

CEO/Founder of CBT Nuggets. I’m very interested in how blockchain and crypto technologies can improve the opportunities for freedom and liberty for all people.