#ITProsWhoCare Spotlight — Alex (@alex_guffey) from Florida!

Zsuzsa Kohanecz
ITpros Who Care
Published in
3 min readMar 24, 2015

--

Welcome to our #ITProsWhoCare Spotlight series. It is an ongoing collection of posts that features members of our Community.

In our last release we learnt about Abesto and his vision to build software that eventually helps people achieve great goals.

In this release please meet Alex from FLORIDA — who wants to use her passion to make a difference.

Without further ado and a big drum roll to another member of #ITProsWhoCare, here is her interview with us:

#charity: What gets you up in the morning? What is your life motto?

Alex: One of the things I think we all struggle with most in life is our purpose and ensuring the tasks of the every day don’t wear down on us. I have the pleasure of doing my passion for a career, so it is easy to jump out of bed in the morning and work until the wee hours of the morning. I am never satisfied. Stay young, stay hungry, stay foolish.

#charity: Describe the world you want your children to grow up in.

Alex: I love that my children will be born in a world with such transparency. The internet lends itself to an era of change and I want the young to see in this new era, anything is possible.

#charity: What skills are you offering to the #charity NGOs?

Alex : I come with a (short) life’s background in web development, but also hope to apply my newly realized user interface skills as well.

#charity: Why are you here? What motivated you to support the #charity community?

Alex: I feel as if this is a way I can really hone my passions in order to make a difference. If you could use your passions to make a difference, why wouldn’t you?

#charity: Tell us a little about yourself. What’s your story? What was a truly life transforming or meaningful moment in your life so far?

Alex: Though I sit in front of a blue screen all day, nothing invigorates me more than a cool breeze on a rocky mountain top. As a girl, I spent my summers at Girl Scout camps hiking the Rocky Mountains and find solace in a quiet forest. I loved it so much, I went on to become a camp counselor. I had a problem preteen one summer that really did not want to be at camp and kept trying to check her phone. After a day or two, I took it away from her and while she protested awfully at first, her protests all but stopped after a while. On pickup day, I handed her back her phone and she tossed it in her bag without even checking her feeds. The rest of her day she spent laying underneath a tree, with her eyes closed, humming. We never exchanged a word, but we never had too. Something in her was freed that summer.

If you could use your passions to make a difference, why wouldn’t you?

As someone who works in tech, I sometimes get lost switching from screen to screen. But sometimes all you need is just to unplug. There is something nature will always be able to offer us that a screen just can’t .

#charity: Where did you learn about #charity?

Alex: I read an article about it in a design blog I often follow called The Next Web and nothing excited me more. I felt as if this was a place I could really make a difference.

#charity: Anything else you want to leave the #charity community with?

Alex: You do what you are great at and I will do what I am great at, and together, we might just make the world a better place.

You can tweet @alex_guffey under #ITproAlex this week for questions, to meet her locally if you are around or just to say hi ☺

Do you think you have many things in common with Alex? Join at hashtagcharity.org and help us build further the Community of One Million ITProsWhoCare!

--

--