Morten Jacobsen
It’s getting better
2 min readFeb 6, 2016

--

Calendula Officinalis in Mediterrean light

Floor, a Netherland woman, living in Berlin, sent yesterday night out the most lovely greeting to about a dozen people attending a ULab Event meeting on Skype earlier that evening.

A message with hope, with some word from Socrates, and a beautiful music video, Lightning with Astrid North.

After listening to the music, I started commenting but suddenly stopped. It didn’t feel right with a just short remark. I have to it in the morning, when I have will- and write power, I decided.

But as almost always, trying to find her message today, was impossible. So now I just wonder, was it a dream, Floor?

Whatever, If you did or did not write this beautiful message, I’ll try to answer — either the dream or the reality.

Using mindfulness in social context

One of the most surprising experience from ULab was how it was possible to use mindfulness to empower the participants. Here is a short version, what I try to tell myself in my morning and evening routines:

I’m standing on the same soil as the people before have done since the dawn of civilisation.

The sunlight shines on my standing body, and as filling all the bodies standing here earlier, it also fills me — with light.

Standing, enlightned, I grip hands with other «makers», we join forces

to create profound changes.

Using music, thats not so easy

It wasn’t as simple to answer with music. Until I thought about the publication I’m just now starting on Medium: It’s getting better.

Here’s the iTunes link from the Beatles version in Stg. Pepper.

Here is McCartney in the Red Square in Moscow:

My view, is that the world has never been a better place than just now. And therefore, finally, we can change the (still massive) problems remaining.

As grown up in the fifties and sixties, what still sings in my head, is Beatles. And their “It’s getting better”, is what started sounding in my head.

The young people joining ULab gives me high expectations and hopes for the future!

Keep acting, Floor! We need your actions!

--

--

Morten Jacobsen
It’s getting better

Norwegian musician, serial entrepreneur & programmer. PM for the OMG GL standard. Promoting sustainable tourism in #Villajoyosa. #Climate #EV #PV #Microtonality