New book on Constructive Journalism

Morten Jacobsen
It’s getting better
1 min readFeb 11, 2016

I had a nice offer reaching my twitter feed today. @MaxCRoser retweeted about a German book on constructive journalism:

I did find on Amazon.com: Absagen an den Untergang — Warum es der Welt besser geht, als wir glauben..
Ein Spiegel E-Book by Hilmar Schmundt.

It took me less than a minute to have it on my Kindle app, costing me a little more than $3. What a world for a reader!

«The world is not as dark as it often appears.»

or

«Die Welt ist nicht so finster, wie es manchmal scheint.»

is a good example.

I also liked Albert Schweitzer comment on journalism 50 years ago.

«Der heutige Journalismus macht mir Sorgen. Die Betonung der negativen Ereignisse ist viel zu stark», hat der Friedensnobelpreisträger Albert Schweitzer in seiner Dschungelklinik einmal gesagt: «Wirklicher Fortschritt ist eng verbunden mit dem Glauben einer Menschheit, die ihn für möglich hält.»

The hashtags #KonstruktiverJournalismus and #constructiveJournalism on Twitter tell you more.

I’ll certainly come back with more as I finish the book!

--

--

Morten Jacobsen
It’s getting better

Norwegian musician, serial entrepreneur & programmer. PM for the OMG GL standard. Promoting sustainable tourism in #Villajoyosa. #Climate #EV #PV #Microtonality