AlunaGeorge: Concert Review

MEK
Soundsgood
Published in
2 min readOct 29, 2015

Now a lot of people may not have heard music by the electronic music duo from London, England. Excluding maybe the DJ Snake remix of their song “You Know You Like It” or their feature on “To Ü” by Jack Ü. The duo does not have the largest discography, but with almost anything I will take quality over quantity almost every time.

As I said before, to my knowledge AlunaGeorge was a duo consisting of Aluna Francis, who was the vocalist and wrote most of the songs, and George Reid, who was the producer and responsible for instrumentation of the songs. So walking into the venue in Philadelphia, I expected to see two people onstage. To my excitement there was a third, a drummer. I learned to play drums at age seven and have never stopped since. The drummer added a lot of energy to Aluna’s energetic vocals and dancing along with Georges instrumentals. In the videos I took I accidentally got stuck on the drummer a few times as well. I guess you can take the sticks out of my hand, but never the attitude out of my mind.

Take a look at the video I took of “You Know You Like It” (DJ Snake Remix). It doesn’t fully capture the energy that the artists had on stage, but it comes pretty close.

So as I said earlier, many of you may not have listened to AlunaGeorge outside of maybe their song remixed by DJ Snake that was a radio hit. You need to do it. They are great on their debut album Body Music and the album Body Music Remixed was also very good. And to put the cherry on top they are better live than on the recording and that is a rare find. So to start you off with your discovery of AlunaGeorge’s music here is one of my favorite songs of Body Music Remixed. I hope you go support these artists on tour and by purchasing their music. It is high quality and they deserve it.

--

--