Top 10 most viewed EDM videos

MEK
Soundsgood
Published in
3 min readJan 11, 2016

I saw this article on edm.com. Some of it made me feel a little nostalgic. Some of these songs brought me back to a much simpler more fun time in my life.

According to Youtube, here are the top 10 most viewed dance music videos.

  1. Lean On-Major Lazer & DJ Snake: This song now has over a billion views. This is next level. Its a little too recent to bring back memories of anything other than EDCNY 2015 though.
  2. Wake Me Up-Avicii: I remember when this came out and everyone was mad Avicii was making “country” music. I mean it is a huge stretch from Levels, which i distinctly remember overplaying the second it came out just like everyone else, but who cares. That song was perfect.
Just because you probably haven’t heard this in forever.

3. Animals-Martin Garrix: This one doesn’t bring back much nostalgia. I feel like I heard this and for some reason wasn’t obsessed with it like the rest of the world. Then all of a sudden I could not go anywhere without hearing the song. I even think it was on a Madden commercial which is actually really cool. If my 16 (or even 23) year old self could write a song so popular EA sports wants to put it in a Madden commercial I would never stop doing backflips.

4. Summer-Calvin Harris: Also a little too recent for nostalgia as well, but I do like the song. After 18 Months I realized Calvin Harris is an amazing songwriter. He also dates Taylor Swift so I have at least two things to be jealous about.

5. Hey Mama ft Nicki Minaj, Bebe Rexha & Afrojack-David Guetta: To be completely honest, I didn’t even like the song. I could see why people did but I don’t have it on iTunes and never left it playing on my radio. Thats it for my unpopular opinions for the day…I think.

6. Titanium ft. Sia-David Guetta: I can actually remember where I was when I first heard this song. My roommate was driving myself and one other kid to class from our apartment a few miles from campus. On the way there he says, “Yo, listen to this song. Its kinda soft but it’s still fire.” Just to be fair, my old roommate listened mostly to early 90s rap. He loved Jadakiss, Sheek Louch, and Styles P. So for him this was a little bit of a softer sound than he was used to. I was immediately feeling the song. I clearly wasn’t the only one. It ended up on this list and in Pitch Perfect (great movie by the way).

7. Play Hard ft. Ne-Yo & Akon-David Guetta: I read the list before writing this blog, however I do not think it registered that David Guetta turned into a Youtube dynasty and went 3 in a row. To have 3 of the top 10 most viewed videos is impressive, however, I honestly couldn’t remember what this song sounded like. It never left much an an impression on me.

8. Where Are Ü Now with Justin Bieber-Skrillex and Diplo: In the the dance music world this song is known as a Jack Ü track. However, to the average person this is probably what started their turnaround on Justin Bieber. People hated this guy and all of a sudden he was making really good music. When that starts to happen people forget really quickly.

9. #SELFIE-The Chainsmokers: This song just reflected everything that was starting to happen and continues to go on in the world. This video was actually really funny though. I can’t even hate on it.

Also this remix has some of the best vocals ever. It’s hilarious.

10. Bangarang feat. Sirah-Skrillex: I heard this before I really liked Skrillex’s music. I never really gave his music a chance until Recess came out. So that is my fault. Listening to some of his older stuff now it is very good and I was being closed minded.

So thats it for the top 10. Remember you can create your own top 10 playlist on Soundsgood. Also follow us on Instagram!

--

--