New Year, New Approach

Assantewa
It Writes
Published in
3 min readJan 27, 2024
AI-generated image of a girl is sitting by a window and thinking

When I started this publication, I had a specific vision, one that I have to admit upon later reflection was a little bit naive. Here’s the thing: my day-to-day work involves researching and writing about technology. I also help to train and support the creation of tools to help people gain digital literacy. You can think of it as the virtual version of teaching a man to fish so that he has the skill for a lifetime.

I love what I do, but I can’t do it 24/7, which was unfortunately the type of situation I was setting up. Just like I’ve never tired of reading, I don’t think I could ever tire of writing. However, when it comes to what I read and write in my own free time as part of a recreational process, it can’t be the same thing that I do for work.

This is something that is obvious, and despite the fact I pride myself on my objectivity, it wasn’t something that I immediately realized I needed to apply to myself. When I’m working, I know how to set boundaries and ensure that I have enough breathing room and variety of tasks so that I stay fresh, innovative, and productive. I also have a similar methodology for when I’m pursuing personal projects.

The problem, however, is that when I started this publication, I didn’t place it into a category. I figured that I didn’t need to decide whether this was something that was going to be professional or something personal I was pursuing for my own intellectual joy. That was a mistake. By not clearly defining the realm within which this publication lived, I wasn’t applying any of the best practices that I’ve developed for navigating various spheres in my life to this publication.

This is something that’s going to change. In fact, if you’re reading this article, it already has changed. You see, I realized that I needed to create a third space. We often talk about third spaces in connection to socializing, connecting, and in the physical world. However, we don’t necessarily look at what a third space represents virtually. I had to decide what that is for me, and once I had decided it, I realized that’s what this publication is.

For me, a virtual third space is a place where I can be myself in public, share the things I care about, offer resources and tidbits of information that I find inspiring, and engage with other digital citizens. This third space is not centered on work or play but rather community. Over the next weeks and months, I’ll be adding content to this publication that’s centered around that which I know best — writing — but also topics and themes related to well-being, productivity, as well as culture and innovation as a whole. Thank you for taking the time to read this article and explore these possibilities with me.

--

--

Assantewa
It Writes

Citizen Librarian, Storyteller, Pattern Finder, Problem Solver