Learn from The Experts: Become a PHP Pro

Ronny Rahman
iTech Grow and Tell
4 min readFeb 9, 2021

iTechā€™s full stack developer whizz, Ronny, dishes the deets on learning PHP.

Hey šŸ‘‹šŸ¾ Iā€™m Ronny and Iā€™ve been working in the front-end development field for five years and counting. As a full-stack developer at iTech, I focus on coding fronted view and backend functionalities and the system of a website application.

That may sound like a lot, but iTech has taught me the role doesnā€™t require you to be an expert in everything related to frontend and backend. Itā€™s better to have a good-level knowledge of all the technologies involved, along with an understanding of the processes and architecture within the entire web application.

At iTech Media we use a hypertext preprocessor (PHP) for the back-end language. When I first started, I honestly considered PHP something Iā€™d learn in 2ā€“3 years, a task I regularly shelved towards the bottom of my to-do list. I worried I had to learn absolutely everything about PHP to be a full-stack developer, which made me delay learning it quicker.

Working with it on a regular basis at iTech has taught me that wasnā€™t the case. Itā€™s fine (in fact, better) to gradually build your knowledge and skillset around this language. This mindset helped ease the pressure off me, ignore my doubts, and embrace PHP sooner than I initially anticipated.

My Recommended Resources for Learning PHP

Learning PHP might seem like a huge task, but there are tons of ways to speed up learning outside of commercial experience. I discovered early on that there are tons of free guides and premium platforms for learning PHP online. Personally, I decided to go down the route of learning PHP the Object Orientated Way (OOP). Coming from a programmer background, I thought it would help me concentrate on the mindset of producing reusable code that is easier to maintain and update, for myself and other developers in the team. Not only that, but it meant I could adapt my learning if my squad decided to adopt a PHP language framework in the future. I thought it would be far easier to come to grips with the coding syntax of the PHP language framework.

Of course, there are plenty of books on PHP basics available, but Iā€™ve never been enthusiastic about learning through reading. In fact, some might say Iā€™m the worst representative for convincing someone to learn through books. After my squad engineering manager recommend I purchase Learning PHP: A Pain-Free Introduction to building Interactive Websites though, I took it as a personal challenge to change my mindset. You know what? I was converted (just this once, anyway). I would recommend it to anyone who is just starting on their PHP journey.

A second option is taking an online course. I have signed up for countless online courses, but to me, theyā€™re useless if I canā€™t apply the knowledge. So, in my spare time, I am building my very own PHP content management system (CMS) from scratch. It is still early stages, but it keeps me motivated to learn and progress. One day, I know I will be able to say to myself, ā€˜Look at what I have created with all the knowledge I applied.ā€™

Finally, another option I have taken is online learning and becoming a certified PHP developer sponsored by Zend, which ultimately tests all my knowledge of PHP. Using the training budget iTech gives me each year, Iā€™m using Zendā€™s study guide for a PHP certification, and am set to take my exam before the end of summer 2021.

If Iā€™m being honest, I used to believe having an online certification didnā€™t hold any value within the web development field. Having experienced the process though, there are benefits. My squad members trust me to take on more PHP-related tasks, and itā€™s given me more confidence in my ability.

The Most Important Tip to Remember

If I had to give one piece of advice to someone learning PHP, it is to be unafraid of failing. It will take time to process the information and let it sink in. There is no right or wrong way of learning PHP in terms of materials ā€” it depends entirely on your own learning style. OOP helped me learn the language to its core, but you might find different methods work better for you.

Reach out to your fellow back-end developers when youā€™re learning, too. They work with PHP on a day-to-day basis and can offer a completely different perspective at times.

The impact of learning PHP has had a positive impact on me, and not just because it is broadening my knowledge. Learning PHP increases my value within my team, as Iā€™m specializing in one language area rather than focusing on multiple back-end languages.

For most of this blog Iā€™ve been talking about PHP, but that alone does not make me a full stack developer. Once you dive into the back-end environment, refining your knowledge as a programmer is very important. You need to know much more, including the server and how it functions, managing databases, understanding caching technologies and when to use it, learning JAMstack, and much more.

Iā€™m still on my journey towards being a ā€œperfectā€ full-stack developer, but learning PHP has taught me how to set realistic targets and has given me the motivation to keep on improving.

--

--