A Fantastic Recipe for Potato Pancakes

Jessica Compton
Itinerant Thoughts
Published in
2 min readJun 29, 2018
My foray into cooking delicious potato cakes.

It has been a while since I feasted on the sumptuousness that is the potato cake. The subtle sweetness, fluffy texture, and buttery starchiness make the mouth salivate with anticipation. And the smell! Oh, yeah!

My partner bought some Aunt Jemima pancake flower a while ago claiming she wanted some flap-jacks. We had some Trader Joe’s vegetable broth. The box was just sitting there unopened, waiting, feeling neglected. Our adopted grandfather gave us some red potatoes, apples, and canned Ro-Tel tomatoes and peppers. I finally had an excuse to try experimenting.

I looked up how to prepare the potatoes and and make the cakes. I decided to peel the potatoes first and boil them in seasoned broth for about 15 minutes. I added a bit of Dr. Bragg’s liquid amino acids. The potatoes would turn a bit amber brown. The taste is wonderful. Add a bit of the broth to the slightly more than a cup of pancake flour in a mixing bowl. The potatoes would be sliced and diced to make it easier on the poor food processor. About a 1/3 of a cup of olive oil with some of the broth was thrown in.

Now once the processor finished, the final product is pure ambrosia. You will be more than tempted to eat this divine custard-looking substance of the gods right then and there. I resisted. My quest for potato cake perfection could not be hindered.

I added the potato custard to the batter and thoroughly mixed them together with the Ro-Tel diced tomatoes and peppers. Then it was a matter of plopping big spoonfuls on the skillet and cooking them like pancakes. Oh, the smells!

The final product is what you see in the above image. They are fine by themselves. My partner thought they were really good with agave syrup and butter. I tried a couple with shredded cheese and could not be happier.

--

--

Jessica Compton
Itinerant Thoughts

Always finding myself in a liminal state, a stranger in a strange land. I am a dabbler, a dreamer, and a thinker. Totes support the LGBTQIA+. Computer Scientist