More Adventures at the Community Pool

Jessica Compton
Itinerant Thoughts
Published in
2 min readSep 7, 2018

Tonight marks a milestone. I swam 25 meters underwater … twice!

About a couple of days ago, I was just barely able to make the journey during lap swim. I could hardly see anything through the goggles I was wearing. They were more than a little worn, and the fogging was terrible. Still, the world looked more interesting so blurred and sparkly. Plus, I could not see the USS McCain floating in my vicinity. The USS McCain is what a friendly, elderly desert rat called his styrofoam boat holding an oxygen tank. I was irritated enough. I did not want to blurt out something inappropriate. So I took solace in the imperceptibility my scratched, worn goggles provided.

Feeling really good about that feat of daring do, I decided to push myself and swim all the way to the other end of the pool underwater. The water felt great. The pool, however, was a little dirty. That was to be expected. It was a community pool, after all. The usual clientele showed up and started their laps. Lap swim at night was the best. My partner and I arrived there during twilight hours and ease right into the cool water in the dry, hot desert air. I shove off the end after a little warm up and begin to drink in the murky silence as my legs smoothly push my body through the water with rhythmic kicking.

Sometimes I would look around in the water. The other swimmers were clearly visible. The urge to breath would grow as a sense of discomfort which would later turn to a painful exasperating feeling, an urgency to gasp for air. Those feelings were manageable this time around. Finally! I could see the goal! One last push and I was through to the end. It was such a great feeling, and I did it twice!

--

--

Jessica Compton
Itinerant Thoughts

Always finding myself in a liminal state, a stranger in a strange land. I am a dabbler, a dreamer, and a thinker. Totes support the LGBTQIA+. Computer Scientist