Only Someone Who Truly Hates Consumerism Could Come Up With This

Jessica Compton
Itinerant Thoughts
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2019

I was pondering menacingly about the problem of human rights. “Why is it so hard to get the world to accept my SJW agenda?” Then a flash! “What if I and a million or so friends invoke our rights as a consumer?” Consumer Capitalism or Consumerism is pretty trendy right now. If consumer health or confidence plummets for any reason, so does the entire economy. Yet a very surprising thing has happened. Society actively shames consumers if consumers violate moral or religious spaces. The seven deadly sins: lust, gluttony, sloth, envy, wrath, pride, … and … greed are necessary vices for the economy to flourish, but we as consumers are also punished if we are seen practicing any one them.

…And I cannot believe I forgot “greed” of all things in the most cliche of lists. That shows you how deep the indoctrination goes! Aha ha ha ha ha!

Yes, well. We are often called on to come up with moral and practical reasons for demanding things like a decent wage, affordable education (tax paid education more affordable), affordable healthcare, and for minorities to have the same basic rights as anyone else. What is more practical than giving consumers what they want? Why is that not a valid reason to ask for these things? Because I really want to be given a reason to hate consumerism. Since I am not allowed myself to come up with good reasons, then I want who ever gate-keeps this privilege to give them to me instead. Would I have to buy them off them, I would need to ask what currency I should use. If the answer is that we just have to accept their reasons, then I am not sure how that would work.

Consumers are not well-trained in accepting others. You cannot quantify or put a price on morals, ethics, ideals, aspiration, imagination, ambition, or character. So it is hard for consumers to relate those who exist outside their cliques, and sometimes within their own cliques. You see, you cannot accurately appraise any human trait rationally as a commodity. It is impossible fully appraise the self, as well. It is just not possible for the human mind. Yet we excel at striving for the impossible. So we experiment with chattel slavery, indentured servitude, wage slavery or indentured servitude, and again with advertising and marketing, and … “you see the misery it brings? Tut tut! Consumer health is important, ya know!”

Anyway, what I rambled on about is a strategy to deal with the sorts of people who love to play mind-games with leftists and progressives. The strategy is to head faking your opponent into attacking the thing they truly believe and protect. You are only allowed to truly believe and protect consumer capitalism, despite the fact you loath the very thing. Your only saving grace is that you do not have to openly and vociferously proclaim your everlasting love to it.

--

--

Jessica Compton
Itinerant Thoughts

Always finding myself in a liminal state, a stranger in a strange land. I am a dabbler, a dreamer, and a thinker. Totes support the LGBTQIA+. Computer Scientist