Jenna Wang
ITI Photo Stories
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2020

--

Kinrinko, an astonishing, beautiful place in Ōita Prefecture, Kyushu, Japan

Kinrinko, an astonishing, beautiful place in Ōita Prefecture, Kyushu, Japan

Kinrinko, an astonishing, beautiful place in Japan

I took this picture during the journey I had after my internship in Japan. It was a very warm day, and the situation of the coronavirus hadn’t become that serious.

When I was arranging the pictures I took, I saw this picture again and recalled the memories in that period of time. Maybe it’s because the two months for me being so precious and irreplaceable. The memory of the days in Japan now seems like such a fantasy to me. The beautiful streets with families walking, laughing together, or the attractive smell coming from a bakery with the fresh bread just from an oven.

No one cared about the horrible disease, no one was afraid of going out, and no one was living in fear. It was just a simple day, with amazing beautiful scenery, which was all I wanted.

It is a place named Kinrinko. In Japanese, this word actually means: the lake, with fish which had golden scales.There is a rumor that the sunlight will be reflected by the scales of the fish, making the lake seemed like it was shining in this beautiful place. That day, I actually didn’t see the fish; however, the lake was truly shining. So beautiful, that even couldn’t take my eyes off the place. The water reflected the beautiful scenery on itself, making it even more fascinating.

With the beautiful scenery, the lake is definitely special. The water from the east part is fresh water; however, from the west part is actually a hot spring! The amazing combination made the beautiful place surrounded in mist every morning, letting all the people who come here stared awestruck at the amazing scenery.

I hope that one day I will have the chance to go back to this amazing place again. And I hope everything will be alright.

--

--