The Value of Volunteerism: Reflections from Marquette Alumna Alice Duncan

Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

Volunteering benefits individuals, groups, organizations, and local areas. Volunteerism is more than simply helping individuals, and when done properly can be used as a communication tool to reach out to communities. As a student of a Jesuit Institution that values helping others, I am surrounded by people like myself, who have many opportunities to volunteer in their community and abroad. In an article from Forbes, Mark Horoszowski describes the “5 Surprising Benefits of Volunteering”. These benefits include feeling like you have more time, developing new skills, health benefits, building experience, and feeling a greater amount of love. As a Marquette student, I feel that volunteerism is a large part of my identity, and I believe that it will continue to have a great role as I move on into the workforce.

To gain a better experience of how volunteerism affects the Marquette community, I spoke with Marquette alumna Alice Duncan. Alice Duncan graduated from Marquette University in 1983 with a major in Dental Hygiene. She previously held the title of Manager in Marketing Technology at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois. Through our correspondence, Alice indicated that at times, she did second guess her career path, as her roommates were Nursing majors, and Nursing was her second choice. I asked Alice what was the most rewarding or memorable event that happened to you as a college student, and her response was astounding and heartwarming. She described, “ A gentleman who I treated in the MU Dental Hygiene Clinic presented high blood pressure. We were unable to treat anyone with high blood pressure readings exceeding a specific range, so I had to turn him away with the caveat that I could see him in the clinic if he saw a doctor for a medical clearance. He was financially strapped and had taken the bus system just to come to the clinic. He was livid and we almost had to engage security”. As Alice would describe, the patient thankfully returned in a few weeks after seeking medical treatment and supervision for his hypertension. The patient’s doctor had indicated that, had his high blood pressure remained, the likely result would have been a stroke. Alice stated, “When I finished his appointment, he sincerely apologized for his anger, thanked me, and gave me a big bear hug. Knowing that I perhaps made a difference in someone else’s life was so truly rewarding. I will never forget him”.

To me, hearing about this experience opened my eyes about how truly powerful the impact of volunteering can be, as we have the power to change peoples lives, even through small acts such as a routine dental procedure. Following, I asked Alice if she had any regrets while at Marquette University. Her response was, “Yes. Volunteerism was not nearly as widespread at that time as it is today”. Alice described humbly how she regretted not making attempts to volunteer elsewhere in the community to try to make more of a difference. It is clear that volunteerism became a large part of Alice’s identity as a Marquette student, and continues to have an impact on her today.

I found Alice’s responses to be very insightful, displaying the importance that volunteering has in our lives. The impact of volunteering can range from small to large, and no matter the size of the effort, the benefit of volunteering can be a positively overwhelming experience. Alice offered the advice of how being commercially aware by having a solid knowledge of issues and current affairs relative to your field can be a key element in your future success.
In closing, I asked Alice what she misses most about Marquette. She responded, “Everything. If I had to choose one thing though, it would be the people. So many friends, professors, others…who helped me grow and shape who I am.

--

--