Weird Poetry Nobody Asked For

Pinning People Figures to Walls and Loving It

Hopes and memories on yesteryear

Lindsay Rae Brown
it’s just foam
Published in
5 min readMar 31, 2022

--

Photo by Alex Lee on Unsplash

Fred stares down at me from the wall.

I was going to name him Paul…But that didn’t sound right.
I shaped his body from a pair of old jeans and a tank top.
My brother’s baseball cap implies the head.

I was pretty stoned when I decided to pin a Fred to my wall,
it then took me another two hours to get the motivation to do it.
Now, I’m debating on making another, perhaps a Mary or a Phyllis.
Because what kind of a one-dimensional man doesn’t want a pin-up girl?

Maybe I should start a business,

Dolls on Walls: Bringing the Disturbing to Home Décor.

“They’re conversation pieces,” I tell people
when they gaze unnervingly upon my newly hanged friends.
What do I care, anyway? I can do whatever I like in this place; it’s mine.
And it’s about time.

I’ve never had a place of my own.
If you don’t count that closet fort, I made when I was…

--

--