The Hauntingly Beautiful Failure of Sybil the Scarecrow

Adventures with Mom

Lindsay Rae Brown
it’s just foam
Published in
5 min readJul 3, 2023

--

Author’s photo

There comes a time in every young gardener’s life when she must admit she needs a scarecrow.

For me, that day was last Friday.

My mom was visiting, and Jamie and the kids were on a mini vacay in our hometown of Sylvan Lake, Ab. As it so often happens during the summer months, I was unable to join my husband and children on their vacation as this is my busiest season at the event rental company I work at as a laundry attendant.

As the saying goes, there’s no rest for the laundry wench.

Thankfully though, Mom had the same week off work and had decided to come keep me company while my family was away.

It’s not often I get my mom to myself, so I was thrilled to have the opportunity to drink wine in peace with the lady who birthed me.

My mom’s thing has always been gardening. Even in the cold and snowy Albertan winters, Mom would be perched over her plant books at the kitchen table, planning the summer garden.

Nowadays, Mom marvels at the produce yields I receive from my tiny urban plot. Mostly she marvels not because of any green thumb skill I possess but because of my inconsistent watering habits and inability to deadhead a damn petunia plant…

--

--