Coffee Shop

A quick poem.

Obinna Morton
It’s My Life 2.3
2 min readJun 26, 2024

--

With my green tea at the moment. Image courtesy of Pixabay

I think of the online spaces where I cultivate a sense of safe

And home
Black American mainly I observe
And the African sister I met at Walmart
Igbo too
From a nearby place
To where my mom was born
Imo state, I think
Singing with them at the church
Redefining God for myself
Past my trauma
God the mother, God the father

I think of how the coffee shop
I am around only White faces
In Denver
White and Hispanic faces
In Denver
In Atlanta,
The harm I faced sometimes with
Black faces
The times when the Black faces
Notated good

Recultivating safe
Away
One step
Toward freedom
Internally first
And the new faces
Will show up
And the past ones
Will show up
In their proper space

Listening to music
That makes me feel home
I always liked the
“Waiting To Exhale” soundtrack
Babyface
Like my father
Having to accept the ways that I am like
Only way to heal

Get me beyond
To an internal space
Like the meditation on Friday
Where I thrive
Beyond the faces around me
At the coffee shop
Beyond
Stratospheric
Let me get to my email now
Just answered my sister now
No more random blog posts
__

Hi. Thanks for reading and seeing my story. And those connected to it. I have a newsletter about my journey. If interested in being a part, I invite you to SIGN UP. I will try to keep things angled to you, too, a reciprocal type of vibe.

--

--

Obinna Morton
It’s My Life 2.3

My name is Obinna. This is my story. WEOC, The Pink, The Book Mechanic.