More Childhood Memories With VHS Tapes I Enjoyed, Really

Movies from our VCR. Rewind. Fast-forward. Pause.

Obinna Morton
It’s My Life 2.3
4 min readJan 11, 2023

--

Image courtesy of Pixabay

Again, respecting privacy. Contents of earlier won’t share.

But…I am going to find out what the status of an interview I had yesterday went, today by the end of the day. Also I don’t know how I am going to do all of my dreams — ballet, modeling, translation/interpretation and Igbo. But let me write this and them go on with my day.

It’s frustrating because I don’t finish everything in my day.

90% of the time.

And also someone recently enough showed themselves again in my life when I’d known them when I was just a baby of 12 years old.

By the way, baby animals are cute. I hate that monkeys are made racial because I think they are just so adorable. Gorillas. Chimpanzees. Orangutans. Their babies are precious. Baby sloths, antelopes, foxes, elephants. Anyway, went down a YouTube hole yesterday. Though chimpanzees are violent. Watch from afar. Did you know that they cannabalize each other from time to time?

Anyway…

These are next on the list to address.

42. Marius

My brother had a friend named this. And it’s been like 25 to 30 years so I note the name since it’s inconsequential. I remember this person, well two people eithe rnamed this or named close enough to one another. He was poor like us. I remember his long-legged gait and jeans or something. I don’t know. Just a memory.

43. Apartments — Ace VEnture, Philadelphia, Cape Fear

When we were living in The Colony off of Memorial Drive in Stone Mountain, Georgia, we got these videos.

I think we had a Sunday newspaper and in the coupons inserts that would be in the paper, there would also be advertisements for check books with cool designs, and random products such as buy 10 movies for 1 cent or something like this. I don’t know how much the movies cost, but we got a bunch of VHS tapes. This was in the early 1990s.

We got a bunch of tapes this way. I think I remember when they came one day in the mail. I only remember the first two. Cape Fear we watched on TV. Oh yeah, we got Hook, too. That was a good one. “Roofeo!”

Ace Ventura the “Einhorn is a man!” scene would not be able to be done today. It is so funny though. “Finkle-Einhorn…Einhorn-Finkle!” Anyway.

We also got a movie called Philadelphia that humanized HIV, if I remember. I think that was the first time I was introduced to this, about a lawyer at a new law firm who was found out to be gay.

I liked the social message of this and was aware at a young age since AIDs had been a topic to address given how the 1980s was an epidemic. Philadelphia was just very slow and serious and I didn’t have the attention span to watch adult movies with adults who acted “like adults”.

We also watched a movie called Cape Fear where the actor I remember was just murderous and the violence was out of this world. I’d share one scene but I don’t want to scare you. I can’t watch this today and don’t know how I dealt with that so young. Actually after enough times I was scared of this movie like with Poltergeist.

44. Rock-A-Doodle, Ducky, Judith Barsi, Cool World, Roger Rabbit

We also watched these movies. The first, Rock-A-Doodle, was about a singing sensation rooster trying to find their “it factor” again. Chanticlaire or something. Cool World looked fun but it was too adult and “sexy” I remember. Who Framed Roger Rabbit was good actually.

I remember later learning about the little girl who played Ducky in The Land Before Time and the little orphan child in All Dogs Go To Heaven. Her father was a physically abusive man and took the life of her and her mother. She was really young.

It’s like over and over the signs were there and nobody stepped in. This little girl had a cute voice. I felt so bad about her evil father and his violence. May she and her mother rest in peace.

This is all today. It is just a scheduled list of different memories really. These are from my enfance, or childhood. That is the French word for this, which was my college major.

Let me go now.

Thank you for listening.

--

--

Obinna Morton
It’s My Life 2.3

My name is Obinna. This is my story. WEOC, The Pink, The Book Mechanic.