Welcome to the 4th (Somewhat) Annual Speakeasies (or The Best Movies of 2023)

I give you my own shortlists and decide who and what was the best of the best in movies I saw from the year 2023

Kevin Powers
It's Only A Movie

--

Robert De Niro in ‘Killers of the Flower Moon’

In my awards program, there are no monologues, some jokes, and only the big categories that anyone who does not work creatively in the movie business can possibly understand.

I also do not see enough:

  • Short Films, Live or Animated (I did really enjoy Wes Anderson’s The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar. Glad he won one, and baller move to not show up for it!)
  • Documentaries, Feature or Short (I saw the Jason Isbell doc on Max. It was okay.)
  • Animated Movies (Only saw Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse. It rules.)
  • International Features (Did see Anatomy of a Fall and Society of the Snow. Saltburn is British and weird and super dumb.)

Honestly, as much as I want to be the movie hound I was a decade ago, I just don’t have that kind of time anymore.

C’est la vie.

And as far as Hair and Makeup and Costumes and Production Design and the like, well, I give all that to Poor Things. The Academy did, too.

--

--

Kevin Powers
It's Only A Movie

Personal Narrative and Memoir. Movie Reviews and Essays. Sometimes All of That at Once.